Not Quite Lunch Poems 3 & 4

DECEIVED
Darkness glistens
Like hot skin
Drawing me in
But touching my fingertips, feels cold
My hand snaps back
Surprised
I rub my fingers with my thumb
Melting the frosty film between
Then dry them on my jeans
As I turn to run

WINTER MORNINGS
Warm blankets and soft sweats
I don’t want to move
I want to stay
Pull the puffy down comforter to my neck
Listen to the icy wind
On the other side of my window
Close my eyes
And just stay

Written in response to the WordPress Weekly Writing Challenge
Not exactly written at lunchtime but kept to a limited time without overthinking.

6 thoughts on “Not Quite Lunch Poems 3 & 4

  1. Pingback: Weekly Writing Challenge: Lunch Posts Day 3 | Reflections and Nightmares- Irene A Waters (writer and memoirist)

  2. Pingback: Lunch at the Ranch – Halo | Running Brook Reflections

  3. Pingback: Weekly Writing Challenge – Lunch Posts | Joe's Musings

  4. Pingback: How Seed Catalog Orders are Born | mariestephensgardening

Leave a Reply

